

Tuesday, April 22, 2025

The Board Buzz provides school and community stakeholders with a recap of Board decisions and upcoming items to be considered by the Board. A recap of actions from our <u>April meeting</u> is included below.

Recognition:

1. SCOPE Conference participants

Liberty Technology High School students Promise Jefferson, Zamarion Carter, Kennedi Taylor, and Cruz Martinez recently participated in the Tennessee School Boards Association Student Congress on Policies in Education (SCOPE) at Belmont University. SCOPE is designed to give students a voice where public education issues are concerned. Participating in mock board sessions, students discussed an array of current topics like school uniform requirements and year-round school.

2. STAR Teacher Grant from Education Foundation

Jackson-Madison County Education Foundation Board President Marcus Love joined Superintendent King to recognize STAR Teachers. Through the Foundation's support, more teachers are providing innovative resources and opportunities for their students. After a competitive application process reviewed by the committee, we are pleased to introduce the LATEST cohort of STAR TEACHER GRANT recipients. Each teacher called received FUNDING to support an exciting student-focused activity (see list on last page).

3. Tennessee Assistant Principal of the Year

Mr. David Westberry was recognized for being named the National Association of Secondary School Principals 2025 Tennessee High School Assistant Principal of the Year! Last weekend he was recognized at the NASSP Conference in Washington D.C. Mr. Westberry is assistant principal of JCM Early College High School in Jackson, TN. Previously, he served as an Algebra I and II teacher for six years and won Teacher of the Year in 2021.

4. Positive Living Group honors Dr. King with Giraffe Super Hero Award

The Positive Living Group has named Dr. King a 2025 Giraffe Super Hero for improving academic outcomes, fostering equity, mental health support, and community engagement. Dr. King is a 2025 Giraffe Super Hero. Dr. King will be celebrated at the 5th Annual Giraffe Awards on August 9th 2025.



Tuesday, April 22, 2025

Action Items:

1. Approved resolution affirming participation in the bonus money for teachers in the Education Freedom Act

VOTE: Unanimous

The Education Freedom of 2025 includes a provision providing one-time bonuses of no less than \$2,000 to public school teachers in the state as defined by the Act; and section four of the Education Freedom Act of 2025 requires that a local board of education must affirm participation in order to receive state funds to issue these bonuses.

2. Tabled vote on resolution for Jackson Museum School

VOTE: Unanimous

The Board moved to delay action on the vote on resolution for Jackson Museum School. The resolution will be considered and discussed during a Special Called Meeting on April 30.

3. TSBA Award nominees approved

VOTE: Unanimous

The Board approved nominees for the TSBA Volunteer Award (Sherry Franks) and the TSBA Student Achievement Award (Kalia Burrell, JCM-Early College High).

Up Next:

Board Committee Meetings, April 22, 2025 Special Called Meeting, April 30, 2025 May Work Session, May 5, 2025 May Board Meeting, May 8, 2025



Tuesday, April 22, 2025

2024-2025 STAR GRANT Recipients - Education Foundation

Stephanie Lewis, JCM-Early College High School Jasmin Parks, Denmark Elementary School Melissa Hardin, Community Montessori School Kayla Graham, Pope School Sarah Goodman, South Elementary School Heather Smith, Community Montessori School Edward Grammer, Jackson Careers & Technology Joanna Willingham, Denmark Elementary Amy Polk, Northeast Middle School Ava Witt, Jackson Academic STEAM Academy Michael Young, Community Montessori School Shelia Houston, South Elementary School Ashley Woods, Community Montessori School Jessica Hardin, Rose Hill School Alexandra Williams, East Elementary School Rachel Wright, North Side High School Corinne Harrigan, Rose Hill School Kathryn King, Denmark Elementary School Laurie Postoak, Pope School Carol Moore, Rose Hill School

Chantel Barnes, Nova Early Learning Center Joshua Hayes, Rose Hill School Hannah Seavers, Rose Hill School Stephan Watson, Thelma Barker Elementary Paula Broomfield, North Parkway Middle School Kathryn Lewis, Pope School Cheryl Currie, Rose Hill School Mary Prewitt, Jackson Central Merry High Stephanie Williams, Jackson Careers & Technology Brooke Jones, East Elementary School Robin Ferguson, Denmark Elementary School Jennifer Burkhead, Denmark Elementary School Ashten Canada, Nova Early Learning Center Sylathia Transou, North Parkway Middle School Denise Tucker, Arlington Elementary School Jennifer Malphrus, Arlington Elementary School Ashley Harris, Arlington Elementary School Tamara Fortner, Arlington Elementary School Rickela Reed, Arlington Elementary School